Subject: "advice for newbs written by a newb" Previous topic | Next topic
Printer-friendly copy Email this topic to a friend CF Website
Top General Discussions New Player Q&A Topic #1266
Show all folders

llxia2Fri 05-May-06 08:13 PM
Member since 05th May 2006
1 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author Click to add this author to your buddy list
#1266, "advice for newbs written by a newb"

Hi all, I looked around the newbie forum and I realised newbies like Tan and others have asked a lot of questions (Tan had three posts) but I think in a way they really haven't recieved much help. I am a newbie in CF as well, but I used to do well in other MUDs. So after I got four characters going past level 25-30 (followed by delete to try other classes and races) I got some ideas for survival in CF. Please note I am still a newbie and I always will be for the next year or so playing CF (a lot of learning), I do feel the pain of being a newbie and I want to write something to help Tan and others. I also want to see some feedbacks to my current experience, it would help my gameplay as well.

CF is different than popular muds in the TMS site because it has a buttload of PK, and amazingly, RP comes with PK (this is perhaps debatable). So the environment in CF is very intense. (being evil does mean something in this mud)

Most newbs face 3 things at beginning:
1.money
2.equipment
3.PK (and the above two things after being pKed)

Leveling is not much of an issue in CF, I think people level too fast (faster than any other MUDS) But you have to watch out for Pkers in leveling.

Firstly, Let's talk about a good class/race for newbs. I believe Tan has tried all of them and most of them being neutral, but I think I understand his problem, this I will come back to later.