Go back to previous topic
Forum Name Gameplay
Topic subjectSuggestion: trigger happy flaw
Topic URLhttps://forums.carrionfields.com/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=6&topic_id=66698
66698, Suggestion: trigger happy flaw
Posted by laxman on Wed 31-Dec-69 07:00 PM
Something to lay on trigger abusers that strips their ability to see people enter a room and the direction of a flee. It could also add a pulse of lag when they try to use abilities on people not present.

This would make running hunting/sleep triggers almost useless. Conversely maybe make it an affect that wears off eventually as a warning system instead of s permanent gimp.
66705, RE: Suggestion: trigger happy flaw
Posted by sezdral on Wed 31-Dec-69 07:00 PM
To be honest triggers are not as rampant as you think. I've been accused of using triggers a lot but I've never used any before because it really isn't worth the risk. Careful planning, use of skills, herding people into certain positions and not spamming commands really goes a lot into PK and making it look like you have are a trigger user with godlike reactions.

E.g. some thieves look like they're trigger users when they actually have a certain skill that allows them to doubleback exceptionally fast, and not everyone knows that and assumes it's a trigger, some vets included.

E.g. if you are in a one exit room, dont be surprised that your aggressor can reach you before you run away right after a flee, esp if he hasn't been lagging himself, because there is only one way you'll run, so he's ready to go <direction>;bash $targ

Obvious triggers are really easy to deal with like someone else said, it's the ROTD. You can even deal with it yourself IC as disarm triggers and chase triggers are easily exploited to the disadvantage of the user. I'll leave it to you to figure it out.
66710, Except - abusing triggers with emotes will get you rotd and punished
Posted by Sarien on Wed 31-Dec-69 07:00 PM
Otherwise id abuse shapaabots chase triggers