Go back to previous topic
Forum Name Gameplay
Topic subjectLowering player numbers and its cause
Topic URLhttps://forums.carrionfields.com/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=6&topic_id=6344
6344, Lowering player numbers and its cause
Posted by Evil Outlander on Wed 31-Dec-69 07:00 PM
Recently I have seen the lowest number of players on CF consistantly throughout the day and night, since I started playing. Uptime and number of player commands put in the game by you guys (immortals) confirm this. Although you have access to complete numbers, it is apparent that CF is on a major player downswing.

With the recent deletion of two very loved immortals of CF, and the mass exodus of heroimms and lower level immortals, couple that with a number of older players ditching out on Glimo's, there is an obvious and glaring problem here.

This is my theory, debunk or flame as needed.

When I started playing, I played mainly for the social aspect CF brought with my friends. I played with 8 or 9 individuals all at the university and high school level. We talked about CF outside of playing it, and it made the game that much more enjoyable. Also, the percentage of new players sticking with CF is dramatically higher when they have others to bounce ideas off of or ask for help in real life. I would gamble that CF staying percentage is 80% if this is so. With newbies stumbling on CF, or through this website, or the mud finder website, its more like 20% at most. Massive cabal wars between actual RL factions were an every day occurance. On some of the immortal goodbye notes, people outline them in a seeminly enjoyable fashion. Although they did, at points take away from the roleplaying atmosphere, the wars themselves were the highpoint of many players.