Go back to previous topic
Forum Name Gameplay
Topic subjectFrom a Newbie
Topic URLhttps://forums.carrionfields.com/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=6&topic_id=56349&mesg_id=56387
56387, From a Newbie
Posted by Paek on Wed 31-Dec-69 07:00 PM
I'm a newbie - not exactly a brand new player, but I consider myself new to the game.

This game has a crazy steep learning curve. I've heroed one character (a bard) and managed to learn some basics, like where the major towns are, how to get a return potion, etc. But overall I still don't know much.

I really want to get into the PK side of things, so I'm now playing a class that is more PK driven. Getting totally smashed, but it's fun.

I think my record is something like 2-30.

One thing that has helped me throughout the game is this mentality that you will die - ALOT. I've been killed by the same person multiple times, by the same NPC multiple times, by multiple people - multiple times.

I spend more time with negative XP then I do with positive XP. At first it made me feel like I couldn't progress, that the differences between vets and newbies was so large that it was impossible to improve.

Sometimes I still feel that way, but as I continue to play, I started to pick up on small things here and there.

What really helped me stick with the game is vets providing helpful information and tips - where to go to get gear, how to avoid getting killed, what to do when fighting, etc. Especially after destroying me in a PK situation.

As a newbie, I like to know there is something I could have done better, rather than feel like I had no chance. It means I can improve.

I do wish that there was an easier way for new players like myself to learn the game faster or get more feedback from the game. For example, I'm playing a necro to get more exposed to PK. I've tried sleeping other players and sometimes it will land and sometimes it won't.