Go back to previous topic
Forum Name New Player Q&A
Topic subjectMaking a Powerful Character
Topic URLhttps://forums.carrionfields.com/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=5&topic_id=3002
3002, Making a Powerful Character
Posted by The Surgical TEch on Wed 31-Dec-69 07:00 PM
I'm rather new to muds in general. I've been playing this mud for about a year now, had a few rangers, and a few thieves. I have question about leveling. I see some people stay at the same level for a long long time, and these are classes that don't need empowerment. These characters tend to be extremely powerful when I contact them. I was wondering why people do this? Is it so they can get the skills they've learned to 100 percent. Some of them i noticed had armor and EQ they had to get from higher level characters. Basically i'm just posting this for some hints on the best way that several of you experienced players think to level. I'm playing a ranger/hunter, half-elf, good align, chaotic, so any tips or hints that you would offer I will listen too.
3165, You're making some assumptions
Posted by incognito on Wed 31-Dec-69 07:00 PM
Firstly, a character can be well geared at any level above 10 without getting stuff from heroes. It may well be that they pk'd someone who looted stuff from heroes.

Generally though, people that sit at a level do so because their skillset or gear gives them an advantage at they level that will reduce if they continue to rank up.

If you are new, you shouldn't worry about tactics to become powerful. Rather, you should worry about learning to navigate areas in the mud because mobility and area knowledge are huge in pk. At the very least, they will keep you alive. If you don't die, you'll accumulate gear.