Go back to previous topic
Forum Name New Player Q&A
Topic subjectDoes Save vs paralysis help in resisting Sleep spells?
Topic URLhttps://forums.carrionfields.com/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=5&topic_id=1069
1069, Does Save vs paralysis help in resisting Sleep spells?
Posted by Pro on Wed 31-Dec-69 07:00 PM
Anyone?
1071, I'd attribute them to 'neurological(sp) disruption'... and the like...nt
Posted by Saith on Wed 31-Dec-69 07:00 PM
nt
1070, RE: Does Save vs paralysis help in resisting Sleep spells?
Posted by Kastellyn on Wed 31-Dec-69 07:00 PM
I caveat this with saying that I'm not a coder, and don't have access to the code, so I might be off a bit.

Based on my experience and general Imm knowledge, sleep spells are a straight up save vs. spell, and save vs. paralysis doesn't enter the equation.

Kastellyn the Devourer of Magic, Lord of Legends
1072, Well I'm trying to figure out why Sleep seems to have such a high rate of success.
Compared to other spells.
1073, Because it's overpowered. nt
Posted by Nivek1 on Wed 31-Dec-69 07:00 PM
1075, It doesn't.
Posted by Valguarnera on Wed 31-Dec-69 07:00 PM
There's a number of ways to defend against it, many of which don't involve a saving throw.

If it's kicking your ass regularly, play a necromancer and try to kill people with it. Its weaker points will become evident rather quickly.

valguarnera@carrionfields.com
1098, Are you possitive?
Here is my experience.

Sleep either gets me the first time or within' 3 flee;sleeps.

I took easily 10 of every other spell minimum before they took effect on me. And then it was often because of bad timmin'g on a fallen bless or some such.

Sleep hands down is the single most devastating spell in the game IMHO.
1099, To add.
I know ways of countering sleep, such as spamming a command waiting for the summon, or their arrival, and I use them, but if you have a moments lag on your end, a sleep WILL get you.
1100, Again:
Posted by Valguarnera on Wed 31-Dec-69 07:00 PM