Go back to previous topic
Forum Name Events & Contests
Topic subjectRE: Copyright 101:
Topic URLhttps://forums.carrionfields.com/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=25&topic_id=433&mesg_id=894
894, RE: Copyright 101:
Posted by Valguarnera on Wed 31-Dec-69 07:00 PM
Nearly every line of what you wrote dealing with copyright is complete BS. I have no idea where you got that interpretation from.

I'm not a lawyer, but my work deals with patent/copyright issues on a regular basis, and I have sat down with lawyers and gone over these issues. (I also have a little formal coursework on the topic of intellectual property, though not nearly enough to qualify me as any sort of legal scholar.) Also, the last time I sat down with the attorney who handles my patent applications, I asked some general questions relevant to MUDs (at the time, for background about a case involving another game), and they confirmed the general understanding I already had.

Any derivative literary work, CF's content included, is automatically the copyright of the author in the United States. A work by shared authors cannot legally be used without the consent of all parties.

CF is allowed to modify ROM as part of the license agreement, which we have always honored. Our modification does not alter their copyright on their original material. As soon we added a single line, CF had a unique derivative of ROM. Even with all the changes we've made, we're still a derivative work of ROM. Even if we continued to modify the code until every line of ROM was overwritten, we would be a derivative work. The only way to avoid being a derivative would be what is commonly called a "clean room" implementation, where we started with a blank page and wrote our own, new code. We've never done that, or claimed to.