Subject: "RE: New player starting out! Lots of questions " Previous topic | Next topic
Printer-friendly copy Email this topic to a friend CF Website
Top General Discussions New Player Q&A Topic #4782
Show all folders

SeriphaxThu 14-Sep-17 10:48 PM
Member since 26th Feb 2017
145 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author Click to view this author's profile Click to add this author to your buddy list
#4787, "RE: New player starting out! Lots of questions "

I am a newbie returnee as well, but I came back around February. As someone in a similar situation, allow me to impart some of what I have learned.

Re: Empowerment.
The help pages still say that empowerment classes are not recommended for newbs, and while that is still true, the reasoning has changed a little. Before, you could only commune your supplications after receiving empowerment of that level. Meaning that if you were empowered to level 30 only you could not commune anything that you learn after 30. That is different, as Kstatida explained. Now you can commune all of your supplications, but until you are empowered they are communed at a level below.

The other reason that I think empowerment classes are still discouraged for new players is the roleplay aspect. The raw newb is not only new to the game system, but also to roleplaying. If you are drawn to this game by RP, like I am, then you will probably do alright seeking empowerment. My first empowerment character was a shaman, and for me the empowerment was the easy part. I just finished playing a paladin, and that has been my favorite character to date. In fact, if roleplay comes naturally to you, I would recommend a paladin, as they are very well equipped to survive and explore with independence. That said, there are RP expectations as a pally, so a weaker role player might have a more difficult time maintaining those expectations.

Re: Areas.