Subject: "RE: Frustrations" Previous topic | Next topic
Printer-friendly copy Email this topic to a friend CF Website
Top General Discussions New Player Q&A Topic #2219
Show all folders

SionelFri 08-Aug-08 12:32 AM
Member since 27th Jul 2008
10 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author Click to view this author's profile Click to add this author to your buddy list
#2236, "RE: Frustrations"
Edited on Fri 08-Aug-08 12:58 AM

I'm currently playing my first character here (though I'm not new to mudding - am an imm on another mud of comparable age and size), so I thought I'd add my two cents.

One major thing I found really frustrating, particularly at low levels though still occasionally now, was the combination of losing con every 3 deaths (as a newbie, I need every hit point and all the regen I can get!), and getting hammered into the ground in two seconds flat by that person who appeared out of nowhere. I can live with a gradual drain of con if basic common sense can help me avoid death, it's not a bad idea in itself. I can also live with (and in fact enjoy, on my 'home' mud) seriously intense pk leading to frequent and swift death until you know what you're doing. But the combination, which means that a newbie will lose a lot of con very early on, is a tricky one and - since my death rate is still well above average for my rank and cabal! - still concerns me a bit, given that I have a role and character I am really enjoying. (I realise con death is a fairly rare phenomenon, but since I *do* enjoy the role, I have no intention of deleting the character and would really like it to go on as long as possible).