Subject: "Hello and other newbish ramblings" Previous topic | Next topic
Printer-friendly copy Email this topic to a friend CF Website
Top General Discussions New Player Q&A Topic #1323
Show all folders

RichenzaWed 26-Jul-06 05:03 PM
Member since 30th Jun 2006
1 posts
Click to send private message to this author Click to view this author's profile Click to add this author to your buddy list
#1323, "Hello and other newbish ramblings"
Edited on Fri 30-Jun-06 01:28 PM

I started playing muds in junior high and was fairly addicted through most of highschool, but at some point a mixture of RL and other hobbies came along and I no longer had time for them.

In the five years or so since, I occasionally get an urge to play again, but it always seems like a temporary thing. The muds I used to spend most of my time on seem remarkably dull and immature now, and I've never been able to settle into a new 'home'.

There are other factors, too - I've been playing/attempting to write interactive fiction games for a couple of years now, and besides annoyances like having to retrain myself to type 'exa' or 'l' instead of 'x', most mud environments come off as painfully shallow when compared to a genre where not having a seperate description for just about every noun mentioned in a room is a cardinal sin and indepth puzzles are the order of the day. (Of course I realize that just wouldn't be practical when implementing an entire fantasy world as opposed to, say, a creepy little Lovecraftian village, but the difference is still jarring.)

But anyway, recently I got that urge again, and decided to give Carrion Fields a try. I've known about it for awhile and heard a lot of good things about it, but it's always looked to have a fairly steep learning curve, and PK has never really been my thing. However, I'm going to have a little extra time on my hands for the rest of the summer, and I figured a little challenge might be just what I needed to keep me interested this time around.