Go back to previous topic
Forum Name New Player Q&A
Topic subjectSome new player questions
Topic URLhttps://forums.carrionfields.com/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=5&topic_id=4812
4812, Some new player questions
Posted by xyfa on Wed 31-Dec-69 07:00 PM
I started playing here a couple of days ago and have been really enjoying things so far. I'm a complete novice to Carrion Fields but a long time mud player, and am just having a few issues I was wondering if anyone could clear up for me. Its probably worth mentioning that I'm a caster. I know there's a recommendation that they're not the easiest classes to start out with, but it mostly comes down to prefering them thematically (though after reading up on them a bit, the warriors here sound way cooler than what I've encountered before). I also like the idea of having access to identify when trying to learn what stuff does. Anyhow:

Firstly, I think I might just be 'doing it wrong' when it comes to trying to level up. I read up on the ranking guide and have been using those areas primarily, but I seem to have to rest between every kill, which takes a long time. It might be that is right, but I'm at that stage where I mostly want to just be sure I'm not making something harder than it needs to be.

Second, when browsing I read that AC isn't that important. Are there caveats to that (like if you have x skills etc) or is it just a general rule of thumb that you should not worry about it that much?

Lastly, is there a way for me to get a wield item to parry with and not give up my shocking grasp and similar? Or are those a trade off kind of thing. I tried a bunch of the basic weapons but none seemed to work. So am guessing the latter.

Thanks in advance!
4818, RE: Some new player questions
Posted by Thaedan on Wed 31-Dec-69 07:00 PM
First off, welcome!

>Its probably worth mentioning that I'm a caster. I know
>there's a recommendation that they're not the easiest classes
>to start out with...